• Welcome to the Pontiac Trans Am Community, the Official Home of the PTA! Sign up for a (FREE) account today!

2002 Trans Am Convertible - Has Wet Trunk After Rain?

Tbone

Reaction score
Hi all, seeing quite a bit of water in the trunk after heavy rains in my ‘02 T/A convertible.

While I caught it early & removed plugs, so it drains quickly & lifted lining, so air gets around & dries it while driving so no stink or rust.

The car has less than 3000 miles on it & hasn’t been outside until I bought it (I feel guilty, but I’m a driver, not a trailer queen keeper)

Does anybody have this issue?

Any ideas/solutions?

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: Pontiac Trans Am

Tbone

Reaction score
Thx for the reply, all seals as new.

I’m thinking there are clogged drain tubes somewhere to drain rain coming off convert top thru body, but I don’t see anything after checking perimeter & don't know where else to look?

I’ve checked with top 1/2 up?

I had an ‘88 Mustang GT convert & w top 1/2 up u could see it had 1 on each side in the rear where top & body met there was a channel they were in. U could see them & get a rubber-covered small gauge wire thru to clean.

Hoping somebody with a 2000-2002 convert might have experience with same?

Last edited:

Y2K-WS.6

Reaction score
I have a 2000 TA Convertible but don't have the wet trunk issue.

I have noticed that the rubber seal at the back of the trunk lid where it meets the convertible top moves out of place very quickly.

If it's not in the right place or gone altogether, the trunk will fill with water.

Tbone

Reaction score
Thx Y2K-WS6, my ‘02 has spent entire life indoors in a showroom environment ( long story I could PM u on).

Anyway also only had 1480 miles on it when I bought it a year ago.

I’ve thoroughly inspected the gasket u speak of & it is as new!

I hadn’t thought about what u indicate.

The gasket is very secure/tight incorrect installed position.